20 officers earn AARC’s ‘Badge of Hope’

Twenty members of the Bismarck and Mandan police departments have earned the Badge of Hope Award from the Abused Adult Resource Center (AARC) for their efforts in the second half of 2019.

The Badge of Hope is an award given by the AARC to a law enforcement officer in recognition of service above and beyond normal duty to victims of domestic violence or sexual assault. Recipients are eligible for AARC’s annual Lifesaver Award.

“We are grateful for the work that these and other officers from area law enforcement do for survivors of abuse in this region,” said Michelle Erickson, AARC Executive Director. “It speaks to both the dedication of law enforcement and to our relationship in this effort.”

Honored from the Bismarck Police Department were the following staff members:
Joey Olsen, Taylor Roman, Wade Nordick, Michael Mehrer, Mark Gaddis, Kevin Thorson, Maggie Masset, Lane Master and Brandon Rask.

From the Mandan Police Department, those honored were: Mike Wood, Dylan McAlexander, Angel Beltran, Bruce Tessness, Nick Pynnonen, Brandon Hauck, Pete Czapiewski, Garrett Stepp, Mary Hamilton, Trish Schmeichel and Leo Belgarde.

The AARC is a private nonprofit that serves victims of domestic violence and sexual assault and their families in a seven-county area in south-central North Dakota.